August 26, 2008

3:00 p.m.


Lynwood Roberts Room

1st Floor, City Hall

117 W. Duval Street



Attendance: Council President Fussell, Council Members Holt, Yarborough, Corrigan, Bishop, Joost, Graham, W. Jones, Redman, Hyde and Johnson


Also: Peggy Sidman, Steve Rohan, Dylan Reingold, Tracy Arpen and Shannon Eller – Office of General Counsel; Kirk Sherman, Janice Billy and Phillip Peterson – Council Auditor’s Office; Dana Farris and Carol Owens – Legislative Services Division; Cheryl Brown – Council Secretary; Shannon Hewett, Lisa Rinaman and Sherry Hall – Mayor’s Office; Cheryl Runyon – Sheriff’s Office; Lin White – Dept. of Public Works; Belinda Peeples – Recreation and Community Development Department; Laura Stagner – Housing and Neighborhoods Department;  John Crofts – Planning and Development Department; Dianne Smith, Debbie Delgado, Sandra Lane,  Sarah Lane, Celeste Hicks, Mina Hosseini, Suzanne Warren, Alison Miller, Stan Johnson, Rupal Wells and Angela Ryan – ECAs; Annette Hastings – Tourist Development Council; Jeff Cements – City Council Research; Rachel Welsh – Council Administrative Services; Tia Mitchell and Joe Adams – Florida Times-Union; Michael Stewart – Jacksonville Airport Authority; Nat Glover – agent; Paul Harden - agent


The meeting was called to order at 3:04 p.m. by Council President Fussell.


Phillip Peterson reviewed the Rules Committee’s actions from its meeting.


Council Member Corrigan reviewed the Finance Committee’s actions from its meeting.  He noted that 2008-559 (appropriation of $725,000 from Special Law Enforcement Trust Fund) has conflicting reports from the Finance and PHS Committees.  Peggy Sidman has distributed a sheet comparing the various amendments.  2008-594 (operation agreement for Don Brewer Early Learning Center) also has conflicting reports from the Finance and PHS Committees.


Council Member Yarborough reviewed the PHS Committee’s actions from its meeting.  Council Member Warren Jones asked for clarification about the conflicting committee reports on 2008-594 and why a failed motion to approve was made as a committee report.  Steve Rohan explained that the Council Rule was changed several years ago to provide that a motion to approve that fails by a majority vote is reported as a recommendation to deny.


Council Member Bishop reviewed the TEU Committee’s actions from its meeting. 


Council Member W. Jones stated that the RCD Committee’s actions have all been previously reported.


Council Member Graham reviewed the LUZ Committee’s actions from its meeting.  2008-515 will be pulled and moved for withdrawal with refund of fees.  Council Member Redman asked that 2008-516 be postponed to a future Council meeting to allow the neighbors a chance to meet with the developer.


The President announced that, with regard to 2008-559, Finance Amendment 1 will be moved first, Finance Amendment 2 second, then the PHS amendment, and Council Member Hyde has a floor amendment he may offer depending on the results of the earlier votes.


Tracey Arpen requested that 2008-746 (disaster preparedness, civil emergency and debris removal) be moved as an emergency to enable the City to meet an application deadline to qualify for reimbursement of costs from FEMA.  Mr. Rohan informed the group of Mr. Arpen’s pending retirement and the Council extended its best wishes.


There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:25 p.m.




Jeff Clements, Chief

Council Research Division




Posted 8/26/08

9:35 p.m.