CHERYL L. BROWN                                                                                                                    117 WEST DUVAL STREET, SUITE 425

            DIRECTOR                                                                                                                                                                                                 4TH FLOOR, CITY HALL

   OFFICE (904) 630-1452                                                                                                                                                                                  JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA  32202

     FAX (904) 630-2906                                                                                                                                                                                                                





July 27, 2010

4:30 p.m.


Location:  City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street,


In attendance:  Council President Webb, Council Members Yarborough, Holt, Bishop, Crescimbeni, Jones, Davis, Corrigan, Redman and Lee (arr. 4:36)


Also: Cindy Laquidara and Steve Rohan – Office of General Counsel; Kirk Sherman and Janice Billy – Council Auditor’s Office; Dana Farris - Legislative Services Division; Sherry Hall and Lisa Rinaman - Mayor’s Office;  Lin White and Jamie Brooks – Dept. of Public Works; John Shellhorn – Environmental and Compliance Department;  Folks Huxford – Planning and Development Department;  Cheryl Brown – Council Secretary/Director; Annette Hastings – TDC;  Robert Phillips – Supervisor of Elections Office;  Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services;  Celeste Hicks, Sarah Lane, Suzie Loving  and Tiffany Hager – ECAs; Kevin Meerschaert – WJCT; Tia Mitchell and Matt Galnor – Florida Times-Union, Paul Harden, Wyman Duggan


Meeting Convened:  4:32 p.m.


Council President Webb and asked the committee chairs to report their committee actions.


Assistant Council Auditor Janice Billy gave the Rules Committee report.  She noted that 2010-511 and 2010-547 (appointments of Scott Wiley and Joshua Darrell Cockrell to the Election Advisory Panel) are being requested for discharge from committee and action as an emergency tonight to have these new members in place on the panel before the August primary election.  President Webb stated that the bills should be sent to committee for one cycle and acted on as an emergency at the first August meeting.  He did approve taking action on 2010-549 (appointment of C/M Joost to the Duval County Canvassing Board) and 2010-578 (appointing Council Members to the Value Adjustment Board) as first reading emergencies.


Council Member Bishop reviewed the actions of the TEU Committee from its meeting.


Janice Billy reviewed the actions of the RCD Committee from its meeting.


Council Member Davis reviewed the Finance Committee’s actions from its meeting, noting that 2010-553 (adoption of “rolled back” millage rate and proposed millage rate for 2011) will be moved as an emergency on second reading.


Janice Billy reported that all of the actions of the PHS Committee had been covered by previous reports.


Council Member Crescimbeni reviewed the LUZ Committee’s actions from its meeting.


President Webb noted that there would be an addendum to the agenda which would include the Jaguars stadium naming rights agreement announced at a new conference earlier in the afternoon as well as several honoring and commending resolutions.


The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.


Jeff Clements, Council Research Division


Posted: 5:00 p.m.