RESEARCH DIVISION



May 17, 2010

9:30 a.m.


City Council Conference Room A

Suite 425, City Hall

117 West Duval Street




Attendance:  Council Members Shad (Chair), Bishop, Yarborough, Webb;  Margaret Sidman,  Office of General Counsel; Sherry Hall, Administration, Heather Norsworthy, Council Auditor’s Office; Susan Stewart, Duval Delegation; Bob Williams,  Public Works; Attorney Wyman Duggan; Jim Catlett; Alison Miller, Dianne Smith, Debbie Delgado, Scott Wilson, ECAs; Philip Zamarron, Legislative Services; John J. Jackson, Council Research Division.


The Committee Chair, Council Member Shad, called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m.


The Chair proceeded to review the agenda, indicating what items were ready for action, what items were being deferred and what items were being seconded and re-referred.


The Chair indicated that Items 11, 12 & 20 on the agenda would be taken up first: RESO 2010-310, Appt Karl-Gustav M. Soderholm as Member of Bldg Codes Adjustmt Bd; RESO 2010-317, Conf Appt of Katherine Carithers as Member of Duval County Election Adv Panel; RESO 2010-359, Conf Appt of Gamal S. Lyons as Member of Taxation, Rev & Utilization of Expenditures Comm.


On Item #7, RESO 2010-230, Conf Appt of Diidri N. Wells to the Jax Human Rights Comm, Replacing Christopher C. Hazelip, the question was raised as to why Ms. Wells was withdrawing her nomination; Sherry Hall indicated that she was unable to accept the appointment.


Margaret Sidman advised the Chair that since her appointment as General Counsel was announced and a Council Resolution drafted to commend her, Cindy Laquidara was named “Lawyer of the Year” by the Daily Record and Financial News.  An amendment would be submitted to include an additional “whereas” clause to note the most recent noteworthy achievement.


There being no further business on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.


John J. Jackson, Council Research Division (904) 630-1729



Posted: 9:00 a.m.