City Council Chamber, 1st floor, City Hall

May 8, 2018

4:00 p.m.


Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street,

In attendance: Council Members Aaron Bowman (Vice President), Greg Anderson,  Danny Becton,  Lori Boyer, Doyle Carter, John Crescimbeni,  Garrett Dennis Al Ferraro, Reggie Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Tommy Hazouri,  Joyce Morgan, Sam Newby, Matt Schellenberg, Scott Wilson

Excused: Council President Anna Lopez Brosche


Also: Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston, Susan Grandin, Stephen Durden – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy and Kim Taylor – Council Auditor’s Office; Carol Owens, Jessica Matthews, Adri Segui  – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services; Jeff Clements – Council Research Division; Sam Mousa and Jordan Elsbury – Mayor’s Office; John Pappas – Public Works Department; Kirk Wendland and Paul Crawford – Office of Economic Development; Mike Weinstein and Angela Moyer – Finance and Administration Department; Folks Huxford – Planning and Development Department


Meeting Convened: 4:01 p.m.


Vice President Bowman called the meeting to order and asked for the committee reports.


Finance Committee: Council Member Dennis reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. 2018-195 (appropriating $3 million from NW Jacksonville Economic Development Fund for a supermarket incentive program): the amendment was incorporated into the substitute so there is no separate amendment to be moved as marked on the agenda.


LUZ Committee: Council Member Schellenberg reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. 2018-154 (rezoning on Cole Road): Mr. Schellenberg will be offering a floor amendment to clarify several of the approved conditions. 2018-171 (calling for a No Hit Zone policy) will be moved as a substitute to incorporate both the NCSPHS Committee amendments and additional amendments developed by several council members at a noticed meeting following the committees last week.


NCSPHS Committee: Council Member Newby reported that all the actions of the committee had been previously covered.

TEU Committee: Council Member Ferraro reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Rules Committee: Council Member Carter reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.

Council Member Schellenberg said that he will pull 2018-274 (honoring and commending Bishop Lorenzo Hall) and 2018-252 (supporting designation by the state of a portion of University Boulevard as Jim Tullis Memorial Highway) from the consent agenda and offer an amendment to add all council members as co-sponsors.


Vice President Bowman said that tonight will be the last meeting for Mayor’s Office Director of Intergovernmental Affairs Ali Korman Shelton who will be honored during the meeting.


Council Member Gulliford said that there was a meeting room conflict this Thursday between the Special Committee on Future of JEA, which rescheduled its meeting from 3:30 to 2:00 p.m., and his affordable housing meeting, both of which are now scheduled in the Council Chamber for the same time. He has moved his meeting to a meeting room at the Main Library, but asked that the Vice President investigate how the conflict occurred and reiterate to the council members the importance of following the proper procedure for booking meeting rooms.


Council Member Wilson said that there will be 3 resolution presentations tonight. Acting President Bowman said that some Brain Brawl participants will also be recognized.


Council Member Carter requested that the Acting President add 2018-331 (Transferring $750,000 within SubFund 32E from Maxville Pk - Football Field and Concessions Bldg Proj to Cecil Field - Phase II Proj to fund Design/Engineering of Phase II of Cecil Field Master Plan) to the addendum for introduction, to which Mr. Bowman agreed.


Meeting adjourned: 4:14 p.m.


Minutes: Jeff Clements, Council Research Division

5.8.18     Posted 4:40 p.m.

Tapes:  City Council agenda meeting – LSD