City Council Chamber, 1st floor, City Hall

March 27, 2018

4:00 p.m.


Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street,

In attendance: Council Members Anna Lopez Brosche (President), Greg Anderson,  Aaron Bowman, Lori Boyer, Doyle Carter, John Crescimbeni, Garrett Dennis, Al Ferraro, Reggie Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Tommy Hazouri, Jim Love, Joyce Morgan, Sam Newby, Matt Schellenberg, Scott Wilson


Also: Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston, Susan Grandin, Loree French – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy and Kim Taylor – Council Auditor’s Office; Carol Owens, Jessica Matthews and Staci Lewis  – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services; Jeff Clements – Council Research Division; Sam Mousa, Ali Korman Shelton and Jordan Elsbury – Mayor’s Office; John Pappas and Lin White – Public Works Department; Kirk Wendland – Office of Economic Development; Mike Weinstein and Teresa Eichner – Finance and Administration Department


Meeting Convened: 4:01 p.m.


President Brosche called the meeting to order and asked for the committee reports.


TEU Committee: Council Member Ferraro reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


LUZ Committee: Council Member Schellenberg reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Finance Committee: Council Member Dennis reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Rules Committee: Council Member Carter reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. Council Member Boyer asked to be added as a co-sponsor to 2018-174 (honoring and commending the retiring presidents of Florida State College at Jacksonville, Edward Waters College and the University of North Florida). Council Member Schellenberg will pull that resolution from the consent agenda and offer an amendment to add all council members as co-sponsors.

2018-133 (Creating a Task Force on Open Government):  President Brosche will offer a floor amendment to add the names of the appointees to the Task Force, removing one of the original appointees.


NCSPHS Committee: Council Member Newby reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Council Member Dennis asked for clarification from the Office of General Counsel on how to dismantle a special committee. Deputy General Counsel Peggy Sidman cited the Council Rule that provides for appointment by a Council President and for either the President or the full Council to establish the ending date for a special committee. A council action to establish an end date for a special committee would be by a simple majority vote. In response to a question from Council Member Hazouri, Ms. Sidman explained the different procedures involved in making a corporate statement of opinion to the outside world on some issue (by means of introducing and adopting a resolution) and in setting a sunset date for an appointed special committee (an internal administrative procedure done by means of a majority vote on a motion made at a Council meeting pursuant to Council Rule 2.103).


Meeting adjourned: 4:15 p.m.


Minutes: Jeff Clements, Council Research Division

3.27.18     Posted 4:30 p.m.

Tapes:  City Council agenda meeting – LSD