City Council Chamber, 1st floor, City Hall

January 9, 2018

4:00 p.m.


Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street,

In attendance: Council Members Anna Lopez Brosche (President), Greg Anderson, Danny Becton, Aaron Bowman, Lori Boyer, Doyle Carter, John Crescimbeni (arr. 4:08), Garrett Dennis, Al Ferraro, Reggie Gaffney, Tommy Hazouri, Jim Love, Joyce Morgan, Sam Newby, Matt Schellenberg, Scott Wilson


Also: Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston and Susan Grandin – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy and Kim Taylor – Council Auditor’s Office; Carol Owens and Jessica Matthews – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services; Jeff Clements – Council Research Division; Ali Korman – Mayor’s Office; John Pappas and Lin White – Public Works Department; Angela Moyer and Teresa Eichner – Finance Department; Kirk Wendland and Ed Randolph – Office of Economic Development; Chief Kurt Wilson – Fire and Rescue Department; James Richardson – Environmental Protection Board; Bill Killingsworth and Folks Huxford – Planning and Development Department


Meeting Convened: 4:01 p.m.


President Brosche called the meeting to order and asked for the committee reports.


NCSPHS Committee: Council Member Newby reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


LUZ Committee: Council Member Schellenberg reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


TEU Committee: Council Member Ferraro reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Finance Committee: Council Member Dennis reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. President Brosche announced that on 2017-849 (Cathedral District-Jax redevelopment of the former Community Connections building) the Finance substitute will be moved, which incorporates the NCSPHS amendment with one additional provision.


Rules Committee: Council Member Wilson reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Council Member Schellenberg asked the President to hold a special council meeting for the purpose of discussing the JEA’s Southside Generating Station property conveyance for redevelopment as The District. Council members are being approached individually with explanations by various parties, but he believes that a special meeting would enable the council to get a uniform overview all at once. Council Member Anderson announced that the DIA board would be having a meeting on the proposal tomorrow from 1 to 5 p.m. Council Member Hazouri lamented that he has read more about the project in the media than he has been briefed on by DIA and JEA. He feels like the Council is being left out of the loop while other parties are negotiating a proposal that will require council action.


President Brosche called the members’ attention to 2018-5 (appropriation of $206,000 to the Medical Examiner’s Office) which is being requested for emergency approval on introduction tonight. Assistant Council Auditor Kim Taylor reported that her office has reviewed the legislation and has no issues or amendments to propose.


Council Member Crescimbeni will have a short presentation when 2017-484 (rezoning 901 N. Main Street), postponed at the last meeting in December, is taken up. He will have more discussions with Steve Diebenow, representing the developer, before the meeting begins at 5:00 p.m.


Council Member Wilson said that he will be trying to schedule a Special Committee on Parks meeting in the next week or two and his ECA will be polling committee members for an agreeable date and time.


Meeting adjourned: 4:20 p.m.


Minutes: Jeff Clements, Council Research Division

1.9.18     Posted 5:00 p.m.

Tapes:  Council agenda meeting – LSD